Impromptu Easter Weekend

Image

TRAVEL EXPERIENCE:  On a whim I planned a last-minute trip to New York City for me, myself and I.  It happened to fall over Easter weekend (don’t ask!), and it ended up being a delightful solo weekend away.  I booked everything at 11PM the Friday night of Easter weekend, packed my bag, and hit the road first thing Saturday morning for the city.  

I planned a total of three things “in advance” (a.k.a. Friday night) for my last-minute weekend away: 1) I booked my hotel room for Saturday night; 2) I purchased a ticket to see “Violet” Saturday evening; 3) I purchased a ticket to see “If/Then” on Sunday afternoon.  Other than that, I was leaving everything (including my meals!) up to chance.  You’ll find below a few highlights of this much needed weekend with myself.

Highlights

  • Hotel room upgrade (never gets old!)

Image

Image

  • Walking up Fifth Avenue/down Lexington Avenue and window shopping
  • People watching in Central Park on a beautiful spring day

Image

  • Sitting at the bar at the Strip House and treating myself to a delicious meal (Note:  If it’s wrong to be in love with their black truffle cream spinach, then I don’t want to be right.)

Image

  • Seeing Sutton Foster (finally!) star in Violet at the Roundabout

Image

  • People watching in Madison Square Park on Easter Sunday – so many Easter egg hunts!

Image

  • Visiting Eataly and having lunch at the Pizza/Pasta bar

Image

  • Seeing Idina Menzel (finally!) star in If/Then

Image

A married friend of mine recently told me that she takes herself on a date once a month – alone, without her husband.  When asked why, she said it’s to do something for herself – just. for. her.  She’s even gone so far as to set parameters for her monthly date – it must involve one nice meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner), a cocktail, and she must “unplug” – no cell phone, no Facebook, not even an iBook.  I found this to be incredibly interesting, and thought I’d adapt a similar policy.  I started off big, by taking myself on an extended date last weekend – next month I’ll likely stick with brunch!  Regardless, while I didn’t abide by her “unplugged” rule, I did adhere to everything else and really enjoyed my impromptu date with NYC.

2 thoughts on “Impromptu Easter Weekend

    • Enjoyed them both very much. Both leading ladies were excellent! If I had to choose, I’d say I liked If/Then just a little bit more – thought the story lines were interesting, despite reviewers saying it was challenging to follow. Pleased to have seen both!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.